Ace of Base - the original incarnation | The Popjustice Forum

Ace of Base - the original incarnation

Discussion in 'Comeback corner' started by Hudweiser, Nov 11, 2011.

1. I had a bit of a Base renaissance yesterday, realising I'd NEVER heard Flowers!

Weirdly, considering they're likely the closest thing to the ABBA form (boys create, girls sing), I was never a huge fan but there's some amazing stuff in their repertoire, but some of it foiled by really bizarre lyrics.

Our school took us to Auschwitz in 1994 and the only cassette the bus drivers had was Happy Nation so during two 32-hour trips there and back it was slowly driving us insane. I always thought they were a bit grumpy given that album title as well!

The Bridge was a major disappointment; the singles were good (Beautiful Life is probably their best Europop moment) but that album was way too long and dragged and I've never upgraded from cassette.

I'm still getting into Flowers. Da Capo was so-so, about 50% decent. The new album is surprisingly solid, again with some odd pronunciations peppered through it but I miss Linn and Jenny (though I never could tell them apart vocally).

Favourite non-singles:
    Waiting for Magic; Hear Me Calling; Young and Proud; Strange Ways; Tokyo Girl; Change with the Light; Remember the Words; Show Me Love

2. SockMonkey

SockMonkey Guest

That made me laugh. I just pictured all these schoolkids getting off a bus and saying "Oh thank fuck we've arrived at a Nazi concentration camp so we don't have to listen to All That She Wants again."

3. I was pretty much obsessed with Ace Of Base between 1993 & 2003.Then I just lost interest and moved on with all the drama in the band and on fan forums...

Have you heard the demo tracks released by Jonas a few months ago? A lot of them are from what was supposed to be the original Da Capo album and they are very good!