• Thread starter Deleted member 5343
  • Start date
I saw the Brighton and Manchester shows and this tour is phenomenal! I have seen Blondie over 20 times since they reformed and these shows are definitely among the best. The order of the setlist - and the setlist itself - are fantastic, Debbie sounds better live than she has in years (for how much I love Debbie, she has definitely phoned it in on some tours) and her styling was great. The crowds were fantastic and engaged - I never thought I would hear a packed arena of nearly 20,000 people sing along to "Picture This". I might go a third time because I don't know if they will tour again, and even if they do I don't know how it could top this.
I echo all the tour love. I saw them last night and it was amazing. The opening song in particular was a blast and I've never heard them perform it before. We had one song cut out but they also did 'Please please me' as they always do when they play Liverpool.
This is only the second tour since of theirs since No Exit I haven't been to. Would loved to have gone but glad to hear it was good.

Here's hoping they manage to tour for their upcoming 50th anniversary.
Rapture was a highlight for me - the lighting, the screens, the setting were all on point and created such a mood. The screens throughout were all done very well actually. I had seen Blondie during the Pollinator era but this time was definitely stronger.
I hope they get some new music out this year and I really hope they can find a way to get No Exit, The Curse of Blondie and Panic of Girls onto streaming. The latter is one of my favourite albums of them in recent years and it was so nice to hear Mother and What I Heard performed live during this tour.
Looks like the details for the box set are being finalized.

The 8-disc set:

I wonder if there's gonna be an ever larger box set. Didn't they tease it basically including every single track from the era? I imagine the 3-disc version is just scooping up all of the tracks that previously weren't on the albums themselves.
These do look wonderful, not gonna lie, I'm just greedy!
~edit: Wait, the 8-disc is all there is to it, I'm sorry for missing on this announcement from ages ago.
Last edited:
Here's the tracklist from the rarities compilation. Lots of great stuff here, but also lots of omissions too (unless there are bonus tracks on the parent albums?).

1 Out In The Streets (1974 Session)
2 The Disco Song (1974 Session)
3 Sexy Ida (1974 Session)
4 Platinum Blonde (Betrock Demo)
5 The Thin Line (Betrock Demo)
6 Puerto Rico (Betrock Demo)
7 Once I Had A Love (Betrock Demo)
8 Out In The Streets (Betrock Demo)
9 X Offender (Intro)
10 X Offender (Private Stock Single Version / Remastered)
11 In The Sun (Private Stock Single Version / Remastered)
12 Little Girl Lies (Private Stock Mix)
13 In The Flesh (Extended Intro)
14 A Shark In Jets Clothing (Take 2)
15 Kung Fu Girls (Take 8)
16 Scenery (Plaza Sound Outtake)

Disc 2
1 Denis (Terry Ellis Mix)
2 Moonlight Drive
3 Bermuda Triangle Blues - Flight 45 (Take 1)
4 I Didn't Have The Nerve To Say No (Take 1)
5 I'm On E (Take 2)
6 Kidnapper (Take 2)
7 Detroit 442 (Take 2)
8 Poet's Problem
9 Once I Had A Love (Mike Chapman Demo)
10 Sunday Girl (French Version)
11 I'll Never Break Away From This Heart Of Mine (Pretty Baby) (Take 1)
12 Hanging On The Telephone (Mike Chapman Demo)
13 Will Anything Happen (Instrumental)
14 Call Me
15 Spaghetti Song (Atomic Pt. 2)
16 Die Young Stay Pretty (Take 1)
17 Underground Girl
18 Union City Blue (Instrumental)
19 Llámame

Disc 3
1 I Love You Honey, Give Me A Beer (Go Through It)
2 Live It Up (Giorgio Moroder Demo)
3 Angels On The Balcony (Giorgio Moroder Demo)
4 The Tide Is High (Demo)
5 Suzy & Jeffrey
6 Rapture (Disco Version)
7 Autoamerican Ad
8 Yuletide Throwdown
9 War Child (Chris Stein Mix)
10 Call Me (Chris Stein Mix)
11 Heart Of Glass (Chris Stein Mix)
12 Nameless (Home Tape)
13 Mr. Sightseer
14 Sunday Girl (Home Tape)
15 Theme From Topkapi (Home Tape)
16 The Hardest Part (Home Tape)
17 Ring Of Fire (Home Tape)
Just got the official email!
Preorders are up.

Blondie: Against The Odds 1974-1982 Archival Boxed Set To Be Released August 26

The First Authorized Blondie Archival Project In The Band’s History Created With Involvement Of All Seven Members

Blondie: Against The Odds 1974-1982 gathers the band's first six albums including “Blondie", "Plastic Letters", "Parallel Lines", "Eat To The Beat", “Autoamerican", and "The Hunter” plus four additional LPs of session outtakes, b-sides, and demos, a 10” with the 1975 Alan Betrock demo recording, a previously unissued 1974 rehearsal tape, and a 45 rpm single featuring their rumored-to-exist cover of the Doors’ “Moonlight Drive” and the at-home sketch of “Mr. Sightseer” — 124 studio tracks in all. Erin Osmon’s liner notes tell the group’s story in exacting detail, with session commentary from Debbie, Chris, Clem, Gary, Jimmy, Frank & Nigel plus essays from producers Richard Gotterhrer and Mike Chapman all housed in a glorious foil-wrapped, 144-page, hard cover book. A second 120-page volume gives a discographical overview of the period via hundreds of picture sleeves, 45 labels, international sleeve variants, flexi-discs, cassettes, and even 8-tracks. This behemoth of a box set weighs 17 pounds and is hands down one of the nicest physical release we’ve ever seen.

After six years of compiling, restoring, mixing, remastering… we knew we couldn’t stop there. We have built not one, but four configurations, including:

An 8-CD box featuring replicas of all six studio albums and an additional two discs of extras (124 songs total) plus a 128-page hardcover book and slipcase

A 4-LP edition with all 52 bonus tracks nestled against a 128-page hard cover book and tucked inside a foil-wrapped slipcase

A 3-CD edition with all 52 bonus tracks and a 164-page hard cover mini-book housed in a sturdy slipcase.

All 124 tracks have been remastered from the original analogue tapes, the vinyl lacquered at Abbey Road and pressed on high quality 180g virgin wax. Each one is a stunning work craftsmanship that Team Blondie has agonized endlessly over these six long years. What the seven band members set to tape over those first eight years remains timeless.

"It really is a treat to see how far we have come when I listen to these early attempts to capture our ideas on relatively primitive equipment. Fortunately the essence of being in a band in the early 70's held some of the anti-social, counter culture energies of the groups that were the influencers of the 60's. I am excited about this special collection. When I listen to these old tracks, it puts me there like I am a time traveler. As bad as it was sometimes, it was also equally as good. No regrets. More music.” —Debbie Harry

"I am hopeful that this project will provide a glimpse into the ‘process’ and some of the journey that the songs took from idea to final form. Some of this stuff is like early sketches; the old tape machines like primitive notebooks. The trickiest thing for me was always about getting the melodies out of my head into reality and the changes that would happen along the way. I think ten years earlier Blondie might have been a full on psychedelic band.”
—Chris Stein

“It is amazing that after all this time, and against the odds, our Blondie archival box set will finally be released. It’s been a long time coming and we are all very happy & excited with the final results.”
—Clem Burke

Is the total count the same between the 8CD and the Super Deluxe?

The press release makes it seem that way but the write up says the 8CD has
all six studio albums & very best of the out-takes & rarties from the Super Deluxe Collectors' Edition
Last edited: