Don't You Forget About These: 1980s Soundtracks | The Popjustice Forum

Don't You Forget About These: 1980s Soundtracks

Discussion in 'Comeback corner' started by nlgbbbblth, Feb 11, 2018.

1. Don’t You Forget About These is my personal look back at film soundtracks from the 1980s. The emphasis is primarily on under-appreciated songs, ones that have either slipped under the radar or never got the acclaim they deserved. Remember that a bad movie can often have great tunes on its soundtrack album. This project is split into 12 parts (the last two are instrumental) and will unfold at regular intervals throughout 2018.

JonBcn, Joanie and Eric Generic like this.
  2. [​IMG]

Part 1 will uploaded to Mixcloud on 14 February.

Last edited: Mar 11, 2018
    Eric Generic and Hairycub1969 like this.
  3. Curious as to what the Bowie track will be. Could choose several!

nlgbbbblth likes this.
  4. When the wind blows
    This is not America
    Absolute Beginners
    Underground
    Cat people (putting out fire)

Take your pick....

nlgbbbblth and Eric Generic like this.
  5. Part 1

David Bowie is the first track.

6. Something Wild soundtrack CD is an old favourite - brilliant film too. Tracks will feature in later parts.

Hairycub1969 likes this.
  7. Fine choice.

Hairycub1969 and nlgbbbblth like this.
  8. Was this the film with a Blow Monkeys single?

9. Don't think so. There's a load of songs in Something Wild - only about a quarter made the soundtrack LP.
    The Blow Monkeys had a single in 1987 Some Kind Of Wonderful - same title as the film

Hairycub1969 and Eric Generic like this.
  10. Ah, that's the connection my memory was making! I also remember seeing a music video with clips from Something Wild...so I wonder what that was...not Fine Young Cannibals?

11. Married to the Mob is another great soundtrack, Demme again. He always had great soundtracks.

nlgbbbblth likes this.