Moloko love | The Popjustice Forum

Moloko love

Discussion in 'Comeback corner' started by smellycat, May 25, 2014.

1. So, having my regular spin of Statues and I wanted to gush about it....But I wasn't too sure if it was appropriate for the Roisin thread. I can never get over how beautiful this album is, and it hasn't aged at all. The title track, familiar feeling, forever more, 100%, I want you and (especially) over and over are works of art.

Also the lyricism of Ms Murphy is truly underated -

'And if my skin were glass, my love, you would see a heart that keeps on beating only in the hope that you'll return. To me.' WONDERFUL.

Wishlight, Uno, ohaimanabu and 2 others like this.
  2. I go through periods where I'm obsessed with Do You Like My Tight Sweater? and I Am Not A Doctor at least every four to six months. They're one of the most unique acts to come out of the mid-90's electronica boom.

I haven't ever gotten around to listening to Things to Make and Do and Statues, although now that they're finally on US iTunes I think I'm going to change that.

sinner, Wishlight and ohaimanabu like this.
  3. The first three albums are so different to anything that came out around them. They were kooky and offbeat, but still managed some amazingly commercial hooks for the singles. Statues is the black sheep in that it's a lot more straightfoward and I see it as the bridge between Moloko and solo Roisin. You definitely need to give the latter two a listen, they're probably the best of the bunch.

4. Forever More is SO good:
    That Technotronic-bass that sounds like a big piece of lead falling through the floor!
    "Someone to help me write the poetry of life!"
    The Video!!!
    Amazing live renditions!

Luc, Wishlight and ohaimanabu like this.