Pose | The Popjustice Forum

Pose

Discussion in 'TV + Film' started by CaliDevotion, Apr 12, 2018.

1. The new FX show about the ballroom scene in 1987 arrives Sunday, June 3rd on FX. The first trailer was released today, and the show was inspired by the award-winning documentary "Paris is Burning".

I have a lot of feelings about this, that I will share in a follow-up post.

blod likes this.
  2. So, a bit of context as to why I have kept my eye on this project for over a year now. I am a Producer with the dream of working in Development and writing my own shows. "Paris is Burning" is my favorite documentary, and I am so fascinated and in awe of that whole movement, that I pitched a show about a fictional version of that world, shortly before Pose was announced and went into development.

I had a very clear idea of what my series would have looked like, had a whole mood board, a presentation, it wasn't just something in my head.

It's Ryan Murphy, so... I always expected to be disappointed with this, but I was a bit hopeful.

This trailer looks beautiful and engaging, but it's also a bit problematic. I'm surprised they decided to go down the mockumentary route, but then glammed the whole thing up. The ball scene was dirty, people were poor, and did big of the little they had.

This is just a taste, but I am also worried about the acting here.

blod and lushLuck like this.
  3. pdf

pdf

Agreed. Put Paris Is Burning on repeat. There's no acting involved. Every moment is utterly truthful.

CaliDevotion likes this.
  4. Ryan Murphy will fuck this up horribly.

5. There's SO much potential here, but the faux-documentary style of the trailer really annoys me. Just makes it feel like a bad dramatization of Paris Is Burning instead of its own 'homage' story.

CaliDevotion likes this.
  6. Did anyone see this?